Advanced search

Clinton Council Swearing In

There's no "I" in Team, the new mayor says


On Monday, Clinton City Council held a swearing in for the new Mayor and one new Council Member, and two re-elected Council Members.

Randy Randall returns to the Mayor's chair, replacing Bob McLean, and Anita Williams comes aboard council, replacing Shirley Jenkins. Gary Kuykendall and Megan Walsh were re-elected to council.

Randall said, "There is no 'I' in Team," and stressed that the council is poised to do great things for the city moving forward. Jenkins presented Walsh a card and a bouquet to mark her re-election, and told Williams that her bouquet is coming soon. She thanked the city staff and council members past and present for assisting her during nearly 30 years of service on Clinton City Council.

Jenkins also gave City Manager Tom Brooks a gift to share with the city staff.

These are the results of March 7 Municipal Elections:

Municipal Election Results

Wednesday, March 8, 2023

Almost One Forth of eligible voters turned out last Tuesday for municipal elections in Laurens, Clinton, Gray Court and Waterloo. The 2,189 votes cast represent 23.29% of those able to vote. 1,725 voted on election day while 442 voted in “Early Voting.” 

A former Clinton Mayor won election without need of a runoff in a 3-way race, while the current Laurens Mayor will be in a runoff.

Randy Randall, who formerly served ten years as Mayor of Clinton, received just under 62% of all votes cast to win the unofficial vote count. He received 407 votes to 147 for Ronnie Roth and 104 for Lenard Pitts.

In Laurens, incumbent Nathan Senn led the ticket with is 565 votes representing just over 40% of the 3-way vote. He’ll face a runoff in two weeks with Randy Garrett, who received 33 ½ percent – with 474 votes. City Council member Alicia Sullivan came in 3rd with 370 votes.

In contested City Council contests, Johnnie Bolt won another term representing District 6 on council, with 244 votes. Challenger Jeremy Hudson received 109 in his first run for council.

In the four-person contest to replace retiring Clinton City Council member Shirley Jenkins for District 2, Anita H. Williams won with just under 59% of the vote. Her 55 votes surpassed the total from the other three candidates.

Incumbent Gary Kuykendall won re-election to Clinton City Council from District 4. His 76 votes represented just over 66% of all votes cast in a three-way race.

Incumbent Clinton District 6 Councilwoman Megan Walsh narrowly held off a serious challenge from Andy Howard. She received 55 votes to Howard’s 52, which was 51.4% of the votes cast.

Gray Court Mayor Stellertean Jones withstood a write-in campaign, winning just over 57% of the Gray Court vote in the officially uncontested contest. She defeated a write-in challenge from Billy Pearson, 54 votes to his 37.

Other uncontested contests re-elected Laurens City Council members Cassandra Campbell and Martin Lowry. Re-elected as Commissioners on the Laurens CPW were Tomika Craig and Jeff Thompson. Elected to Gray Court Town Council were Laura Cook and Nadine Phillips. Elected to Waterloo Town Council were Johnny Cheeks and Gina Fleeman.

All results were unofficial until the Election Commission conducted a Canvas of the votes Thursday morning at 11:00.  The run-off elections will be March 21. - WLBG