Advanced search

TONIGHT Red Devil Sports Awards & Winners' List

Clinton High Athletics to celebrate 13-1 Football and other successful teams, student-athletes, and coaches


The Clinton Red Devils will celebrate successful student-athletes at ceremonies TONIGHT at the high school. The initial session starts in the main gym at 6 pm, then continues with break-out sessions.

Among the successes are Varsity Football that played for the Upper State Championship and JV Football that went undefeated, and Varsity Boys' Basketball that played to within one victory of the Upper State Championship.

Here's the schedule:

Clinton Red Devils

Fall & Winter Athletic Awards Night

February 22, 2023

6:00 Welcome - Mr. Buddy Bridges (Booster Club President)

6:05 Special Awards - Coach Louie Alexander (Athletic Director)

All Region IV-AAA and Region IV Players of the Year

All State 

Region IV - AAA Coaches of the Year

CHS Record Breakers 

Inaugural Cynthia Stoddard Award - Buddy Bridges

*****Girls Tennis, JV/Varsity Volleyball, Varsity Girls Basketball, and JV/Varsity Cheerleading will transition to the auditorium.


6:20 Big Gym Auditorium

Girls Cross Country Girls Tennis

Boys Cross Country JV Volleyball

JV Football Varsity Volleyball

Varsity Football

JV Boys Basketball Varsity Girls Basketball

Varsity Boys Basketball JV Cheerleading

Wrestling Varsity Cheerleading


Clinton High School

Fall-Winter Athletic Awards Night 2022-2023

Girls Cross Country Colonel Rexford Sportsmanship Award 

- Ada Tiller Most Improved Runner - Marissa Brewer

Most Valuable Runner - Elizabeth Reid

Boys Cross Country

Colonel Rexford Sportsmanship Award - Keenan Dominick

Most Improved Runner - Sam Gearheart

Most Valuable Runner - Charlie Cody

JV Football

Offensive Player of the Year - Javan Cook

Defensive Player of the Year - Demious Holmes

Most Valuable Player - Kendarious Copeland

Varsity Football

Best Offensive Lineman - Jay Martin

Best Defensive Lineman - Hezekiah Kinard

Offensive Player of the Year - Jishun Copeland

Defensive Player of the Year - Kason Copeland

Gayle Ellis Award - Ben Sanchez

Most Valuable Player - Bryson James

JV Boys Basketball

Most Improved Player - Jaquavion Anderson

Best Defensive Player - Neil J. Brown

Most Valuable Player 

- DJ Clark

Varsity Boys Basketball

Most Improved Player - Tushawan Richardson

Best Defensive Player - Quay Ryant

Columbus Copeland Award 

- Keividrick Richardson

Most Valuable Player - Wil Stewart & Taliek Fuller


Teammate of the Year - Malik Abnathey

Most Improved Wrestler - Rion Gordon

Most Valuable Wrestler - George Cody

Girls Tennis

Sportsmanship Award 

- Gracie Spangler & Rebecca King

Most Improved Player - Libby Dailey

Most Valuable Player - Mary Catherine Dailey

JV Volleyball

Hustle Award 

- Kameryn Waters

Most Improved Player - Gracie Underwood

Most Valuable Player - Sophia Sullivan

Varsity Volleyball

Sportsmanship Award - Tamia Barr

Most Improved Player - Savannah Miller

Most Valuable Player - Madison Swindler

Varsity Girls Basketball

Most Improved Player - Zakalia Redd

Best Defensive Player - Saniya White

Cynthia Stoddard Award - Hannah Gary

Most Valuable Player - Mylayja Thompson

JV Cheerleading

Most Improved - Mikaylah Anderson

Most Spirited 

- Ayanna Wright

Varsity Cheerleading

Sportsmanship Award - Kristen Richey

Most Improved 

- Jenna Cheek

Caroline Sease Award - Kumorah Fant

Most Valuable 

- Ry’Daijia Mars

All Region IV

Volleyball (3) - McKenzie Crisp, Tamia Barr, 

Madison Swindler

Girls Cross Country (2) - Marissa Brewer 

Elizabeth Dailey - Region IV Individual Champion 

Boys Cross Country (7) - William Reid, Sam Gearheart, Gage Dominick, 

Keenan Dominick, Hayden Stinson, Connor Donley

Charlie Cody - Region IV Individual Champion

Girls Tennis (4) - Chandler Dailey, Gracie Spangler, Libby Dailey

Mary Catherine Dailey - Region IV Player of the Year

Football (10) - Jay Martin, Naiim Mayes, Jishun Copeland, Eric Robinson, Kason Copeland, 

Zay Johnson, Keegan Fortman, 

Hezekiah Kinard - Region IV Defensive Player of the Year

Justin Copeland - Region IV Special Teams Player of the Year

Bryson James - Region IV Player of the Year

Boys Basketball (3) - Tushawan Richardson, Wil Stewart

Taliek Fuller - Region IV Player of the Year

Girls Basketball (2) - Bryanna Belton and Mylayja Thompson

Wrestling (5) - 

Blake Greenwood - 132 Pound Region IV 


Kendarious Copeland - 145 Pound Region IV Champion

George Cody - 160 Pound Region IV Champion

Joseph Carles - 182 Pound Region IV Champion

Rion Gordon - 220 Pound Region Champion

AAA All State

Madison Swindler - AAA CAWS All State - Volleyball

Elizabeth Reid - AAA All State - Girls Cross Country

Mary Catherine Dailey - AAA All State - Girls Tennis

Bryson James - AAA All State - Football

Hezekiah Kinard - AAA All State - Football

Jishun Copeland - AAA All State - Football

Justin Copeland - AAA All State - Football

Taliek Fuller - AAA All State - Basketball

Blake Greenwood - AAA State - Wrestling

George Cody - AAA State - Wrestling

Joseph Carles - AAA State - Wrestling

Rion Gordon - AAA State - Wrestling

Region IV Coaches of the Year

Coach Lee Atkinson - Cross Country

Coach Clovis Simmons - Girls Tennis

Coach Corey Fountain - Football

Coach Eddie Romines - Boys Basketball

Coach Andy Wright - Wrestling

CHS Record Breakers

Charlie Cody broke the school record in the 5K with a time of 16.48.09

Jishun Copeland broke the school record for longest run from scrimmage vs Laurens High School with a 99 yard TD.

Mylayja Thompson broke the school record for steals in a game with 15 vs Union County.