Champions crowned at Laurens County Speedway

Laurens County Speedway came roaring back to life for the final time in the 2015 season with the season-ending state championship races - the third straight year the speedway had hosted the event.

Six divisions, including the visiting Thunder Bombers Division, took on the speedway in what was the first racing card in four weeks.

Limited: Billy Rushton won his 11th overall race of the season by taking home the state championship race with ease. Frankie Coates was second, division champion Brad Rachels third, Timbo Mangum fourth and B.J. Eubanks fifth.

Rushton started on the inside of Row 1 after Mangum won qualifying and chose to start on the outside of Row 1. But Mangum could not get a strong start once the green flag flew and Rushton used his inside position to get to the lead. Rushton held the lead from start to finish and turned laps at one point in the race of less than 15 seconds to pull away from the rest of the field.

Coates and Rachels put up a good battle for second place that Coates ultimately prevailed in, but neither was able to get close enough in the later stages of the race to put forth much of a challenge for Rushton, who had won the last two Limited Division season titles.

Crates: Dale Timms led wire-to-wire in the main event, while Larry Timms started and finished the main event in second to win the state title. The victory was Dale Timms’ second on the season, capping off a division season that had 12 different winners.

The two Timms started on the front row after finishing 1-2 in qualifying. Dale Timms won the right to choose where he started, and he went with the outside. At the start Dale Timms was able to use momentum and get out in front of Larry for the lead.

Dale Timms held a fairly safe lead throughout as Larry never got close enough to make a run at the lead, allowing Dale Timms to pick up the victory.

Behind them were Colby Cannon in third, Dillon Brown in fourth and Timbo Mangum in fifth. Terry Bullard, the division winner, finished 11th.

Hobby: Bobby Tucker won his 101st career main event at Laurens County Speedway, holding off division winner Phillip Wilson in the state championship. Chris Lyons took third, Lucas Motte was fourth and David Overstreet ended in fifth.

Tucker and Wilson pushed each other through the main event, with Wilson pushing from the very start. At one point it appeared Wilson had made the move on Tucker and grabbed first place with five laps to go, but because a full lap wasn’t finished after the pass, it was negated – moving Tucker back to first.

Wilson later was knocked back in the field after an incident with Lyons, but he was able to get back to second by the finish. As for Tucker, he had to hold off Wilson at the end, but Wilson ran out of time and Tucker grabbed the checkered flag.

SS4: Stacy Brock took home the state championship, holding off a charge from season champion Dusty Eaves. Bradley Lambert was third, Brandon Patterson fourth and Adam Hand fifth. Brock is the 11th different main event winner this season.

Brock maintained the lead after starting on the pole, with Eaves following in second. The two cars quickly showed they were the top cars in the division, and pushed each other through the main event.

What had been a clean race was brought to a halt with a caution flag on the 14th lap, but it didn’t slow the top two drivers – especially Brock, who never let the lead slip away.

DWS Towing Wall-Walkers: Michael Staton won the state title, turning back John Smothers, Spud Ammons, Alex Corbin and division champion Andrew Patterson, who rounded out the top five. Staton’s victory was his fourth on the season, tying Tony Hill and Travis Jamieson for the most in the division.

The most active moment came in the heat races when Chris Hill and Jason Lambert got into a hard crash. Hill appeared to have a slight hand injury, but otherwise the drivers made it through without major difficulty.

As for the main event Staton held the lead early before Danny Anthony grabbed the lead for a time. But once Staton on the third lap, he had the race in hand.

Thunder Bombers: David Stone finished atop the field in the Thunder Bombers’ Division state championship, bettering Camden Francis, Ronnie O’Sullivan, David Steadman, Joel Melton and Chris Steadman, who rounded out the field.

Francis had the lead in the early going after starting on the outside of Row 1, with Stone following in second. Stone pushed early on before falling off the pace, but later found his way back to the leader with enough momentum to get past Francis and take the lead for keeps.

My Clinton News

P.O. Box 180
513 North Broad St.
Clinton, SC 29325
Phone: (864) 833-1900
Fax: (864) 833-1902

Privacy Policy


Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to My Clinton News Newsletter feed